Noero Architects

Noero  Architects

Jo Noero formed Noero Architects in Johannesburg in 1984. It was restyled as Noero Wolff Architects from 1999 to May 2012, when it became Noero Architects once more. The practice has offices in Cape Town and Port Elizabeth.

Noero has been the recipient of local and international awards, including the Lubetkin Prize from the Royal Institute of British Architects in 2006, the Ralph Erskine Prize from the Nordic Association of Architects  in 1993, and the Gold Medal for Architecture from the South African Institute of Architects in 2010.

Noero’s work has been exhibited at MoMA in New York, the Venice Biennale, the Sao Paolo Biennale, the Singapore Biennale and the National Gallery of Art in Cape Town.

Noero has designed and built over 200 projects and has combined a professional career with an academic one, lecturing both locally and internationally.

Noero was the Director of the School of Architecture and Planning at the University of Cape Town from 2000 to 2005.  He has been a tenured professor at that institution from 2000 to date.

He was also the Pietro Belluschi Visiting Professor of Design at the University of Oregon in Eugene, Oregon in 2004 and the Ruth and Norman Moore Professor of Architecture and Director of Graduate Studies at Washington University, St Louis, USA from 1996 to 2001.

Noero was awarded the Emma Smith Art Scholarship for overseas study from The University of Natal, where he also received the Professor Alexander Petrie Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Arts and Humanities in 1997.

In 1994 Noero was commended with an Honorary Doctorate of Science from Brighton University. He was elected as an Honorary Fellow of the RIBA in 2001 and an International Fellow in 2010. Noero was elected a Fellow of the Academy of Science of South Africa in 2001 and is an Alumnus of the Salzburg Seminar.

All Articles